Ettan Portion Snus

Where to Purchase: SnusCentral.com Snus Shop
Submitted by: SnusCENTRAL Staff
Manufacturer: Swedish Match
Product Description:

Originally manufactured by well known snus producer Ljunglöf, Ettan is one of the oldest snus brands in Sweden. Ettan portion is a snus flavored with the pure taste of tobacco. The portion variety was launched in 1990.

 

Snus form: Regular portion snus
Snus content per can: 24 grams
Number of portions per can: 24
Nicotine: 8 mg/portion

 

Brand: Ettan
36_img
I love the smell of chocolate in the morning 
(10.00/10)

On 27 Oct 2015, wrote:
Ettan Original Portion snus absolutely billows a dark chocolate smell; DARK being the keyword here. The taste is kind of neutral, reminiscent of how it smells but mildly salty. The los definitely is milder in terms of smell. All in all its great stuff. Not bad in the slightest. Probably my favorite non-mint snus. A true classic snus.
Vote
10/10
Great classic snus 
(8.00/10)

On 21 Dec 2013, LarryWaters wrote:
Ettan portion: Pure tobacco flavor with smoke. This snus is a good choice for ex snuffers who enjoyed Cope. No sugary, sweet, minty flavors here. Just rich tobacco with a slight smoke flavor.
Vote
8/10
 
(8.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, jaydec wrote:
Ettan portion: Pure tobacco flavor with smoke. This snus is a good choice for ex snuffers who enjoyed Cope. No sugary, sweet, minty flavors here. Just rich tobacco with a slight smoke flavor.
Vote
8/10
 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, singlemalt wrote:
Ettan is the only snus i have bought rolls of. It is my everyday snus. It is a pure tobacco taste with NO lemon, which is why i love it.
The tobacco is on the mild side but the taste does last for about an hour or more.
I end up messing with the portion quite a bit trying to get more flavor out of it, which is not a bad thing. Some people get a hint of chocolate out of Ettan but i have never tasted that, just the straight up tobacco goodness.
Vote
10/10
A Great Snus 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, Aristocles wrote:
Tobacco. Plain and simple. For Americans new to snus, it is not the Copenhagen sweet kind of flavor. It is, quite literally, pure tobacco flavor.
Initially I noted a bit of salt but it This snus does not linger. The tobacco comes in nicely. Personally, I think it has a chocolate-ish undertone, but it is just noticeable and that is all.
Ettan original portion pairs very well with coffee in the morning, in my opinion. If you don't want flowers, fruit, licorice, lemon, etc., this is a good place to look.
Let me add that it may take a couple of tries to really appreciate it; it did for me. This is probably most pertinent for Americans used to sweet tobacco flavors...Ettan is a great snus.
Vote
10/10
 
(8.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, Sm0ke42o wrote:
One of my favorite pure taste profiles. This one is simple but effective. The tobacco has a more robust "old" smell/taste to it.
This flavor is what I picture old men would use as a staple but don't let that run you off its still very good.
Vote
8/10
 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, Fury556 wrote:
If you are looking for something with a rich tobacco
flavor and no minty/fruity flavor, this is probably the snus for you. I didn't think I would like this one but I did.
Vote
10/10
 
(6.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, wrote:
For me, this one just did not do the trick. It wasn't horrible and I finished the can but as I try more and more Snus, I just don't think I will be going back to this one anytime soon.
I did taste the chocolate type flavor in it which was pleasant. I do want to make clear that it is not a sweet chocolate taste and is just a slight hint as in the same manner the smell of dark chocolate brings. The flavor just did not last long enough in my opinion and was a little bit on the mild side for me.
On the upside I did enjoy the fact that it had a pure tobacco flavor but just wish it had a little bit more punch and lasted a bit longer.
Vote
6/10
 
(8.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, phager76 wrote:
I was a bit concerned about all the warnings about the saltiness. Clearly overrated, or 20 years of smoking has killed the salt receptors on my tongue :)
I think I might be hooked though, this has a slightly earthy flavor with a touch of salt, and now a bit of pepperiness coming through. Overall all I can say is "Yum".
Looks like you guy's got yourself another convert!
Vote
8/10
Ettan, a true snus staple. 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, Gink wrote:
Where would we be without Ettan? There's nothing exotic or phenomenal about it except for it's complete straightforward and approachable nature. This is a perfect starter snus, nice and mild, good flavor without giving you too much of anything. And it stays great even after a long time with snus.
Mild without being tasteless, Ettan always reminds me of having a cheek full of sunflower seeds. A nice bit of salt, and a nice earthy, grainy flavor. When you just want your nicotine fix and nothing too fancy, Ettan is your go to snus.
Vote
10/10
 
(8.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, wrote:
This snus was a surprise to me. It comes with a decent nicotine hit and sits very comfortably in the lip. Flavor, tobacco only, lasts for about an hour and is very mild. One of my faves and in regular rotation.
Vote
8/10
 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, vinylcut wrote:
If I had to settle with one brand of Snus I would be satisfied with Ettan...either white, original, and Los.
I have to double barrel with the portions but that would be fine...I find it that good.
Vote
10/10
My favorite, so far. 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, Horseshoot wrote:
I love this snus. I am a newbie, but have fallen in love with thus snus. When I pop it in, I taste salt, and a lovely pure tobacco flavor. After a short time, these flavors meld into a smokey tobacco flavor. As time goes by, I get hints of a dark cocoa flavor. I enjoy this anytime, but I especially enjoy it as my first portion, in the morning, with really good coffee. A match made in heaven.
Vote
10/10
 
(8.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, wrote:
Ettan Portion has a tobacco taste with hints that remind you of unsweetened cocoa. Very, very smooth character. Moderate tobacco flavor, moderate drip, solid nicotine and long lasting flavor. Reminds me of a slightly milder and straighter version of Grovsnus. If you want your snus unspoiled with fruity flavors, it is certainly worth a try.
Vote
8/10
 
(8.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, vinylcut wrote:
Ettan which I was on the fence about for a while is now my favorite snus, I can finally taste the creaminess of the chocolate, vanilla, and earth, which is very subtle but amazing pure tobacco flavor. Tastes like good air cured Seca Virginia Seed Tobacco as if the flavor is just from the tobacco.
I've had a sour stomache 2 mornings this week and it was the only tobacco gentle enough in flavor that actually soothed my stomach. Magical stuff and the Original.
Vote
8/10
 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, wrote:
To be honest, I wasn't expecting too much from this one, having read the other reviews, but out of the twelve or so types of snus I've tried, this one has been my favorite. Great flavor, no bitterness, fits nicely under the lip, even though I wear dentures, and lasts a decent amount of time. If I could only choose one brand/style of snus, this one would be my choice. I can't wait to place my next order, I will definitely be ordering a roll of these.
Vote
10/10
Ettan Original Portion 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, enojy wrote:
Ettan's Original Portion has truly grown on me over the years. After having tried many different brands and almost all of the different nicotine levels, Ettan is the one profile I can't find a single fault with. It's plain, no-nonsense tobacco flavor is met with a wonderful hint of chocolate (just a hint!) and is satisfying every time.
I always order between a few cans and a roll of Ettan when I replenish my snus stash, but I do expect it to take over as my main snus in due time (once I can ween myself off of strong portions for good!) If you're new to snus, or even if you aren't, look no further than Ettan for a simple, unobtrusive, natural tobacco snus. It's truly perfect.
Vote
10/10
 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, capitalistdog wrote:
Best portioned snus ever. Like it's lös predecessor, Ettan OP is a pure tobacco snus which tastes like cocoa. This snus is heaven in a can. Perfect as a go-to snus when you don't or can't do lös, Ettan OP is true to its lös counterpart. If I could only have one brand of snus, it would be Ettan, hands down. It doesn't get better than Ettan.
Vote
10/10
My favorite 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, wrote:
I'm till relatively new to snusing, but I think I have already found my favorite all around. Ettan portion both smells and tastes like a perfectly aromatic and fresh batch of tobacco. I mainly get tobacco flavoring with hints of chocolate in the background. I think the chocolate described comes from the tobacco itself (I could be wrong). I could chain these all day long. They aren't as salty as a rapé or general white portion which I like.
Vote
10/10
 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, wrote:
New to snus and being a girl I thought I was going to be stuck with flavored snus. but I actually found the perfect snus. everything is in perfect balance. not too salty or sweet or bitter or peppery. I admit the first snus I tried was the over sweetened camel. this is the flavor I was expecting but did not get.
Vote
10/10
Simple, Elegant ... THE ONE snus 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, br-ettan wrote:
Wrote a similar review for the white portion, but between the three of them - white, loose and this ... THE Original Portion is the best snus to me ... hands down, no contest. (Loose is fantastic, but I cannot use loose snus due to gum irritation, not to mention portions are more handy)
This is the "why did i ever leave you" snus'. Was with Ettan in the beginning ... loved it ... then I wandered ... found others ... tried to be with more exotic, more dangerous and colorful snus ... but Ettan came back ... and I realized, I should never have left and now I have a whole new appreciation for the oldest snus.
There is a reason this is "number 1" ... it is simply the best, most elegant, easiest snus there is. The rich tobacco, the cocoa subtle notes, the long lasting flavor ... all day, every day. Folks may want mint, strong nicotine, HUGE ~EXTREME~ flavor ... but once your taste buds recover from all the smoking ... you can really appreciate how complex this "simple" snus is. Choice tobacco, choice blend, a staple in SwM's cupboard.
This has become the only snus I use. I have had them all except Monte Christo and Gellivare ... and nothing tops the simple and delicious flavor of Ettan Original Portions.
Vote
10/10
 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, Dawg1 wrote:
Ettan Portion snus is probably the best pure tobacco snus out there. This is truly and excellent snus.
Vote
10/10
 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, wrote:
Got a can with my 1st order in my "Bag-O-Snus". Very high quality, straight tobacco flavor. I prefer Ettan over the Grovsnus portion but it is a matter of personal taste. Strongest flavor that comes through for me is chocolate. Give Ettan a try for your regular portion straight.
Vote
10/10
 
(10.00/10)

On 30 Nov -0001, wrote:
I've been using snus for about 6 months; my first two cans were General Snus Original and General Snus White Mint. I found the General Snus Original to be just too salty and to much bergamot. For the next few months because of my dislike of General Original I only purchased flavored snus, I have tried quite a few now and even though I initially like the flavor after while I end up becoming tired of it and start to notice other not so pleasant tastes. After reading good reviews about Ettan I decided to give it ago even though its an unflavored Snus. I wasn't expecting much but this Snus is the best by far. it is a mellow straight up tobacco flavor with some faint chocolate flavor to it, this is not cigarette tobacco but a nice interesting pipe tobacco flavor. So if like me you first tastings of unflavored Snus put you off don't let that stand in your way. This is the taste I've been looking for all along!
Vote
10/10

Login

Latest Member Snus Reviews

Skruf Greatness

Matt Campbell , Wednesday, March 23, 2016 I have has so many different Snus During my career of ...

Great snus!

Daniel M. , Sunday, January 24, 2016 Thunder Ultra Cool Mint white dry is a great snus. I bought...

This was a disappointment to me.

Bryon R. , Tuesday, October 27, 2015 Skruf Original Portion Snus is nothing to brag to mom about....

An awesome los snus

Justin S. , Tuesday, October 27, 2015 Röda Lacket Loose Snus is just awesome. In the loose ...

I love the smell of chocolate in the morning

Bryon R. , Tuesday, October 27, 2015 Ettan Original Portion snus absolutely billows a dark ...

It's like Ettan portion’s weird half-brother.

Bryon R. , Tuesday, October 27, 2015 This snus has a good quality tobacco and portion material ...

Smells EXACTLY as one would expect

Bryon R. , Tuesday, October 27, 2015 Probe Whisky loose snus smells of tobacco and whiskey. Its ...

Really good snus!

Chris M. , Saturday, August 22, 2015 General Snus is the only real snus I can buy in American ...

A staple snus for me

Larry Waters , Saturday, August 15, 2015 This XRANGE snus is essentially Göteborgs Rapé Large White...

This is a great snus!

Teri S. , Friday, August 14, 2015 Olde Ving Fudge portion had a very different snus flavor for...

Snus Central Twitter

Perfect Facebook Like Box Sidebar